Dedicated to Minnesota Dentists 2016 recipients

Share This Article

November 27th, 2016

Recipients of Dedicated to Minnesota Dentists Loan Repayment Program 2016

2016 DMD recipients Christine Lucachik and Anna Carr are recognized at the Delta Dental of Minnesota Annual Symposium

With large and recognizable providers like HCMC and the Mayo Clinic calling Minnesota home, our state has become synonymous with quality health care. But despite that reputation, Minnesota is also home to many communities that face health care provider shortages. In fact, more than 6 out of 10 Minnesota counties have been federally designated as dental health professional shortage areas.

Last year, Delta Dental of Minnesota Foundation kick-started a loan repayment program in an effort to attract dentists to Minnesota communities in need of health care professionals. Called Dedicated to Minnesota Dentists, the program reimburses up to $200,000 in student loan debt to graduated dentists who commit to practicing in underserved Minnesota communities for at least five years.

In its first year, the program placed four dentists in Warroad, Ely, Mora and Benson. This year, the foundation chose two more dentists – one who will practice in International Falls and the other in Deerwood, Minnesota.

Last month, the two recipients were recognized at the Delta Dental of Minnesota annual symposium: Christine Lucachik, who graduated from the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry, and Anna Carr, who graduated from the Arizona School of Dentistry and Oral Health, this spring.

Both recipients share a strong history of volunteer work and a commitment to their profession. We’re looking forward to seeing how they contribute to their communities.